Experienced Manassas DUI Defense Attorney Ready To Serve You

In 2018, the state of Virginia reported 240 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities. 73.6% of the intoxicated drivers involved in such fatalities had a blood alcohol concentration of over .15%—almost twice the legal limit. The Virginia legislature imposes strict penalties for DUI offenses in an attempt to curb the practice within the state.

DUI charges in Virginia carry the possibility of significant repercussions for drivers. This is especially true for drivers convicted of DUI on more than one occasion. If you received a DUI charge, waste no time before contacting a Manassas DUI defense attorney to represent you. Our Manassas, Virginia DUI lawyer Michael Pignone has defended thousands of clients against DUI cases and is prepared to provide you with the same zealous advocacy.

Table of Contents[hide]

What Counts as a DUI in Manassas County?

Under the Code of Virginia § 18.2-266, it is illegal to drive or operate any vehicle if you:

  • Are impaired by any combination of alcohol and drugs;
  • Have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above 0.08%;
  • Are under the influence of alcohol; or
  • Are under the influence of a drug.
  • The legal limit for the average driver is 0.08. However, if you have your commercial driver’s license and are driving a commercial vehicle, your legal limit is 0.04. Drivers under the age of 21 have a legal limit of 0.02.

Penalties for DUI in Manassas County

Criminal penalties for DUI charges subject offenders to steep repercussions, especially in the event of multiple convictions.

First Time DUI Convictions

An offender convicted of his or her first DUI faces the following potential penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail;
  • Up to a $2,500 fine;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device;
  • Completion of the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program; and
  • License revocation for one year.

A driver whose BAC registered at or above 0.15% faces mandatory jail time.

Second DUI Conviction

An offender who receives a second DUI conviction within 10 years of the first conviction, faces the following potential penalties:

  • Up to one year in jail;
  • Up to a $2,500 fine;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device;
  • Completion of the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program; and
  • License revocation for three years.

A driver whose BAC registered at or above 0.15% faces a longer period of mandatory jail time than a driver without a prior DUI conviction.

Third DUI Conviction

Offenders convicted of a third DUI within 10 years of their first DUI conviction face the following potential penalties:

  • Up to five years in prison;
  • Up to a $2,500 fine;
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device once driving privileges are restored;
  • Completion of the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program;
  • Vehicle forfeiture; and
  • License revocation for an indefinite period.

Depending on the time that has passed between prior DUI convictions, offenders convicted of a third DUI face up to 90 days of mandatory prison time. A third DUI conviction is a felony.

A fourth or fifth DUI conviction results in the permanent suspension of the offender’s driver’s license and a potentially longer prison term.

A qualified Manassas DUI defense lawyer can help mitigate the consequences of a DUI conviction.

Aggravating Circumstances in DUI Cases

The presence of certain factors authorizes prosecutors to enhance the penalties available for DUI offenders. The aggravating factors in Virginia include:

  • The presence of a child in the vehicle at the time of the DUI;
  • BAC over 0.15%; and
  • BAC over 0.20%.

Elevated BAC convictions can result in mandatory jail time, even for first-time offenders.

Hire a Manassas, Virginia DUI Defense Attorney Today

Manassas DUI defense attorney Michael Pignone and his team at the Law Offices of Michael A. Pignone have advocated for clients charged with DUI for more than two decades. Defending DUI charges requires knowledge of constantly evolving drunk driving laws and the willingness to take an aggressive approach. While we cannot guarantee the same outcome, in any case, our ability to obtain positive results on a consistent basis speaks for itself.

Contact a Manassas DUI defense lawyer at the Law Offices of Michael A. Pignone online or by phone at 703-775-4252 for a free consultation.