| Read Time: 2 minutes | Chemical Tests

Breath and Blood Testing for DUI Evidence

When Is a Breath or Blood Test Required? When a driver is suspected of DUI, it is standard for law enforcement to have breath or blood tests administered. When the law enforcement officer first pulled you over, they may have subjected you to a preliminary breath test. A handheld device is used to conduct such tests, and these handheld...

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 3 minutes | DUI

Refusing a DUI Test

What Happens If You Refuse the Chemical Test? A standard set of actions take place in all DUI charges in Virginia. The process begins with the initial police stop. A law enforcement officer will claim to have observed some type of driving behavior that could indicate alcohol or drug intoxication, such as speeding, weaving, wrong-way driving, or the police...

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | DUI

Can I Still Drive to Work or School With a Suspended License?

Yes, You Can! Here’s What You Need to Know In Virginia, if you meet the criteria, you may have the ability to get a restricted license after being convicted of a first or second DUI offense. If there has been an accident or injury, the legal situation may be more complex to resolve. The first action you should take...

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | DUI

How Many Points Will Be Added To My Driving Record for DUI?

A DUI conviction will put 6 demerit points on your license Six-point demerit violations are the most serious. A conviction will remain on DMV record for years – 11 years for DWI and 11 years for driving under the influence (DUI). To reinstate your driving privileges will require certain actions to be taken for you, based upon the circumstances...

Continue Reading

| Read Time: 2 minutes | DUI

Will I Lose My License for a DUI in Virginia?

Your license will be suspended, but you may apply for a restricted one instead. All DUI convictions include license suspension if you plead guilty or are convicted of the offense in court. For a first-time misdemeanor DUI conviction, your driver’s license will be suspended for 1 year. There is the ability to require a restricted license based upon the...

Continue Reading